Techniques for Entering / Running Your Search
|Phrase search||Use quotation marks around your phrase|
|Truncation (sometimes called "wild card")
||Use an asterisk (*) with a word stub|
|Choose a field to search
|Resource category limiters
||Drop-down menus or check boxes|
|Boolean operators --see examples below
Techniques for Narrowing / Broadening Your Results
|Resource category limiters– [to narrow your results]
||In right or left column on the Results Page|
|Subject heading hyperlinks– [to broaden your results]
||Links in the FULL record|
Using Boolean Operators: AND, OR & NOT
Look for AND, OR & NOT drop-down menus
The search will find...
AND narrows a search, resulting in fewer hits.
|north carolina AND prohibition||items containing "North Carolina" and "prohibition."|
OR broadens a search, resulting in more hits.
|zimbabwe OR rhodesia||items containing either "Zimbabwe" or "Rhodesia" or both.|
NOT eliminates some unwanted results.
|mexico NOT new mexico||items containing "Mexico" but not "New Mexico."|
Abstract -- a brief summary of an academic article, conference presentation, dissertation, etc.; this is a searchable Field in a Database record
Boolean logic -- a system for narrowing / broadening search results using the operators AND, OR and NOT; the user chooses the operator as he/she enters the search terms and before clicking "Search"
Database record -- information about a source (e.g., title, author, subject, format, source, etc.)
Field -- a piece of information from a Database record (e.g., title)
Full-text -- all of the actual words in the actual article, e-book, or other source
Keyword or phrase -- a word or phrase that you will type into a search interface; the search engine will crawl the Database records in the database (and/or the Full-text of the database contents) looking for these words/phrases
Limiters -- categories of information commonly used to limit a search either before or after you click "Search"; database systems usually provide check boxes or other means of selecting limiters
Results -- a listing of the Database records that were found by the database search engine
Subject heading -- a word or words that describe the subject of the article, book, etc.: this is a searchable Field in a Database record