chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 Resources: Jewish Resources

Assistance and Giving

Chayim Aruchim - Coronavirus Support Hotline
Extensively trained Chayim Aruchim staff liaison among rabbinic authorities, medical staff, and patients who guides patients in navigating their course of treatment. 24-hour hotline: 718-301-9800.

Covid
 Plasma Initiative
Information for recovered COVID-19 patients to register to become potential blood plasma donors. 
JASAChat Emergency Volunteers 

Jewish Association Serving the Aging helps a community that is particularly affected by the public health crisis related to COVID-19. The 40,000 older New Yorkers who rely on this organization are more at risk both from the virus itself as well as being isolated in their homes. Connect with a senior 1-2 times a week via phone or video chat. Volunteers will be matched with a senior based on mutual preferences.
Kindness Club  
great resource for parents, educators and those that serve senior citizens, 

Education and Outreach

Agudath Israel
Resources and guidance from the Agudath Israel of America. Additional information on the website for shiurim and virtual activities during the pandemic. 

Halachipedia 
Halachot related to Coronavirus. 

Orthodox Union
 

Guidance related to community activities and daily Tehillim and shiurim.

Rabbinical Council of America
Resources and guidance related to COVID-19 that includes a plethora of information on rabbinic responses to unprecedented queries and situations related to COVID-19. 

UJA-Federation 
COVID-19 Resources for nonprofits, synagogues, and day schools.

YUTorah on Coronavirus 
Shiurim and piske halakhah on issues related to COVID-19.    

Yeshiva University 
Information, responses and lectures related to the YU community and COVID-19.  

Live streamed Events, Films, and More

Jewish Live
A new streaming platform designed to find commonality and community across distance.  Programming ranges from mindfulness classes, Jewish education, music, and children's events.

JFNNJ - Weekly Virtual Events

Free Jewish Federation of Northern New Jersey virtual live events (such as Family Feud, Trivia Night, and conversations with leading medical and mental health experts).  Register for Zoom links. 
The Nathan Axelrod Newsreel Collection
A unique collection of newsreels filmed by pioneer of Israeli film Nathan Axelrod between 1927 and 1958.

National Archives - Jewish American Heritage Month

May is Jewish American Heritage Month, recognizing Jewish contributions to American culture, history, science, and more.  This site provides a calendar of events, along with recorded speeches and videos.

National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene

Live streamed events through the Museum of Jewish Heritage - A Living Memorial to the Holocaust. 

The Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive

This virtual cinema, which is updated often, contains films documenting an array of subjects such as life in the British mandate before the foundation of Israel, Jewish communities around the world and a plethora of other subjects as they were seen through the eye of the camera lens.
Yiddish Films

Five Yiddish films with English subtitles you can stream for free on the Internet.

Regional Information

Achiezer
Five Towns and Far Rockaway based organization shares
important community information, local resources and information.

BergenShulsTogether
A user-friendly, comprehensive COVID-19 resource specific to the needs and interests of Bergen County Orthodox residents.  More information on this site can be found here.

Fountain of Kindness

This Long Island-based grassroots organization has mobilized volunteers and donors to assist those working on the front lines and those with COVID-19 

Passaic-Clifton COVID-19 Task Force 
Run by the Passaic-Clifton (NJ) Covid-19 Task Force with the endorsement of the Rabbonim of Passaic-Clifton

Mental Health

Amudim Anonymous Support Hotline and Resources
Serves the Jewish community in times of crisis by providing resources, referrals, support, assistance and guidance for children through adults, including an anonymous support hotline.  Includes videos, live events, support groups, and tips to help navigate the pandemic
Hotline Hours: 8am - 11pm (including Shabbat). 888-726-8346 or 718-972-3000; support@amudim.org

OHEL 
Support groups, remote crisis counseling.  and webinars on topics such as managing confinement and managing anxiety.

OU Mental Health: Live Programming
Watch live or recordings of past events, which include How to Manage COVID-19 Anxiety: A Psychological and Spiritual Perspective, Coping with Corona: Helping our Children & Ourselves, Grief, the Omer and Corona: Thoughts and Suggestions, Eating to optimize your immune system and maintain your health.

Refa'enu Mental Health Links
Comprehensive list of mental health resources

Relief Resources for Families
Provides teleconferences on intergenerational issues; support groups for mothers; publications including 2020 Covid19 Family Guidebook:  Do it at home Coping skills and Activities; How to Explain the Virus to Very Young Children e-book; and links to other mental health resources.

Sam Frankel Mindfulness Videos
Videos about mindfulness and its positive effect of peoples live.

Ritual and Prayer

Chevra Kadisha 
Information from the National Association of Chevra Kadisha with protocols for funerals, cemeteries and Chevrot Kadisha that take into account new restrictions and regulations due to COVID-19.

Every Soul a World 
Mishpacha Magazine’s narrative tribute to victims of COVID-19. 

Virtual Minyanim  
Virtual minyanim hosted by Shuls across the US and Canada in
 order to bring people together for Tefillah.