Selection of Jewish Genealogy Books in the YU Library
Avotaynu Guide to Jewish Genealogy by Call Number: CS21 .A98 2004ISBN: 9781886223165Publication Date: 2003-12-01
A Beginner's Guide to Jewish Genealogy in Great Britain by Call Number: Z6374.B5 B44 2000ISBN: 9780953766932Publication Date: 2000-01-01An indispensable book for anyone researching Jewish genealogy, beginner or expert, which explains access and use of public records, wills, naturalization records, maps, gazetteers, synagogue records, headstones, Yiddish & Hebrew terms, & Yizkor (memorial) books of the Holocaust victims with locations. Modern sources such as Internet addresses, and much more are also included.
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Genealogy by Call Number: CS21 .E53 1991ISBN: 9780876688359Publication Date: 1991-03-01The first of a projected three-volume guide for helping the Jewish family historian find source material (vols. 2 and 3 will focus on non-North American sources and topical issues). After a section of articles on immigration and naturalization, descriptions of institutional resources are arranged by
From Generation to Generation by Call Number: CS21 .K87 1996ISBN: 9780062700971Publication Date: 1994-09-01A guide for American Jews, particularly those of Eastern European origin, with material on finding information recently made available from the former Soviet Union.
Getting Started in Jewish Genealogy by Call Number: CS21 .M65 2015ISBN: 9780983697572Publication Date: 2015-06-01
A Guide to Jewish Genealogy in Germany and Austria by Call Number: DS135.G3 G85 2001ISBN: 9780953766918Publication Date: 2001-01-01This book is written from the point of view of people in Great Britain tracing Jewish genealogy, but the clear explanation and mass of detail will make it useful for anyone using German and Austrian records. It shows how the borders of Germany and the Austro-Hungarian Empire changed, describes civil registration, and lists relevant libraries and Genealogy Societies in Germany and Austria. It has substantial information on records of the Holocaust, and on emigration during the 1930s. There is a bibliography, and suggested phrases in German for including in letters of enquiry to libraries and registration authorities.
International Genealogy and Local History by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9783598440908Publication Date: 2008-08-27This book contains the papers delivered at sessions organised by the Genealogy and Local History Section at the annual conferences of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) between 2001 and 2005; many of these are updated versions of the original presentations. A wide range of significant issues and trends in historical and family research is covered. The authors, all experts in their own fields, address those engaged in delivering genealogy and local history services in libraries, archives and museums across the world. Moreover, they focus on the growing army of enthusiasts directly engaged in tracing their own ancestral and local history. Several papers give useful hints on how various resources can be used to further personal research. These include the exciting opportunities offered by the digitisation of primary resources and by the impact of the powerful new technology, among other things now on offer through DNA profiling.
Jewish Genealogy by Call Number: Z6374.B5 Z79 1984ISBN: 0824020367Publication Date: 1984 to 1990-11-01First published in 1990. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Pocket Guide to Jewish Sites in Arlington National Cemetery by Call Number: F234.A7 M35 2013ISBN: 9780979236518Publication Date: 2013-10-27A short guide to Jewish burials and monuments of Jewish interest in the nation's main military cemetery.
Sourcebook for Jewish Genealogies and Family Histories by Call Number: Z6374.B5 Z83 1996ISBN: 9781886223035Publication Date: 1996-08-01#Rev. ed. of: Jewish genealogy.
A Student's Guide to Jewish American Genealogy by Call Number: CS21 .S35 1996ISBN: 9780897749770Publication Date: 1996-07-10This series of student research tools explains the process of genealogical research while creating opportunities to practice and integrate social studies skills.
Selection of Holocaust Reference Books in the YU Library
Auschwitz Chronicle, Nineteen Thirty-Nine to Nineteen Forty-Five by Call Number: D805.P7 C8713 1990ISBN: 9780805009385Publication Date: 1990-11-01- Blackbook of localities whose Jewish population was exterminated by the Nazis byCall Number: D810.J4 Y322Publication Date: 1965Statistical collection of Holocaust deaths, by location in Europe.
The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the Holocaust by Call Number: D805.A2 Y33 2009ISBN: 9789653083455Publication Date: 2010-03-01A two-volume set. Seventy years after the outbreak of World War II, most of the European ghettos have still not been systematically researched. This pioneering two-volume encyclopedia gathers data from historical studies, testimonies, and documents dealing with more than 1,100 ghettos throughout Eastern Europe. This encyclopedia offers detailed entries on the various ghettos into which the Jews of Eastern Europe were confined during the Holocaust. Entries on each ghetto are written by scholars and specialists on their topic and include location, wartime name, and geographical coordinates, and, for the larger ghettos, information on life before World War II and during the Soviet occupation era, German (Nazi) occupation, ghetto structure, institutional life and leadership, terror and killing operations, underground resistance, and the number of survivors at liberation. They also describe the differences between each ghetto and examine the difficulties of daily life in the ghetto, coping strategies, and different forms of resistance. The first reference book of its kind, The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos during the Holocaust is a valuable resource for diverse disciplines and is supplemented by a special DVD of wartime footage of ghettos filmed in real time during the Holocaust.
