Physics Textbooks
Fundamentals of Physics Extended by
The 10th edition of Halliday's Fundamentals of Physics, Extended building upon previous issues by offering several new features and additions. The new edition offers most accurate, extensive and varied set of assessment questions of any course management program in addition to all questions including some form of question assistance including answer specific feedback to facilitate success. The text also offers multimedia presentations (videos and animations) of much of the material that provide an alternative pathway through the material for those who struggle with reading scientific exposition. Furthermore, the book includes math review content in both a self-study module for more in-depth review and also in just-in-time math videos for a quick refresher on a specific topic. The Halliday content is widely accepted as clear, correct, and complete. The end-of-chapters problems are without peer. The new design, which was introduced in 9e continues with 10e, making this new edition of Halliday the most accessible and reader-friendly book on the market. WileyPLUS sold separately from text.
Call Number: QC21.3 .H35 2014ISBN: 1118230728Publication Date: 2013-08-05
Modern Physics by
For the intermediate-level course, the Sixth Edition of this widely used text takes modern physics textbooks to a higher level. With a flexible approach to accommodate the various ways of teaching the course (both one- and two-term tracks are easily covered), the authors recognize the audience and its need for updated coverage, mathematical rigor, and features to build and support student understanding. Continued are the superb explanatory style, the up-to-date topical coverage, and the Web enhancements that gained earlier editions worldwide recognition. The Sixth Edition includes the discoveries that have further enlarged modern physics in the first decade of the new century, takes note of the evolution that is occurring in the teaching of physics in colleges and universities, and recognizes the growing role of modern physics in the biological sciences.
Call Number: QC21.3 .T56 2012ISBN: 142925078XPublication Date: 2012-01-01
Physics by
This text is intended for algebra-based introductory physics courses taken primarily by pre-med, agricultural, technology and architectural students.
Call Number: QC23 .G399 2005ISBN: 0130606200Publication Date: 2004-08-09
Quantum Physics of Atoms Solids, Molecules, Nuclei and Particles by
A revision of a successful junior/senior level text, this introduction to elementary quantum mechanics clearly explains the properties of the most important quantum systems. Emphasizes the applications of theory, and contains new material on particle physics, electron-positron annihilation in solids and the Mossbauer effect. Includes new appendices on such topics as crystallography, Fourier Integral Description of a Wave Group, and Time-Independent Perturbation Theory.
Call Number: QC174.12 .E34 1985ISBN: 047187373XPublication Date: 1985-02-14
Physics Reference Books - Click link for catalog information
Einstein A to Z by Call Number: QC16.E5 F68 2004ISBN: 0471466743Publication Date: 2004-07-20Einstein was the twentieth century's most celebrated scientist - a man who developed the theory of relativity, revolutionised physics and became an iconic genius in the popular imagination. Essays range from the reasonably scientific including the theory of relativity, to the odd and engaging, such as Einstein's brain, his favourite jokes and films. Einstein A to Z provides a vibrant overview of the man and his achievements.
Schaum's A-Z Physics by Call Number: QC61 .C44 2003ISBN: 0071419373Publication Date: 2003-07-03Useful for high school seniors - especially AP students - and college freshmen, this book features cross-referenced definitions of several key terms and phrases.
Q Is for Quantum by Call Number: QC793.2 .G747 2000ISBN: 9780684863153Publication Date: 2000-02-22THE QUANTUM WORLD FROM A TO Z Here in one volume, the award-winning science writer and physicist John Gribbin has provided everything you need to know about the quantum world -- the place where most of the greatest scientific advances of the twentieth century have been made. This exceptional A to Z reference begins with a thorough introduction setting out the current state of knowledge in particle physics. Throughout, Gribbin includes articles on the structure of particles and their interactions, accounts of the theoretical breakthroughs in quantum mechanics and their practical applications, and entertaining biographies of the scientists who have blazed the trail of discovery. In a special section, "Timelines," key dates in our quest to understand the quantum world are mapped out alongside landmarks in world history and the history of science. An encyclopedia of the fundamental science of the future, Q is for Quantum is an essential companion for anyone interested in particle physics.
A Dictionary of Physics by Call Number: QC5 .D53 2009ISBN: 9780199233991Publication Date: 2010-04-01This is the most popular dictionary of physics available. It contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. With 200 new entries and expanded coverage inareas including applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers, and nanoscience, A Dictionary of Physics is more comprehensive than ever before. The dictionary is generously illustrated with over 120 diagrams, graphs, and tables and it also contains biographies of important scientists. Feature entries provide in-depth analysis of key topics such as crystal defects, magnetic resonance imaging, and the solar system. Three feature entries onlow-temperature physics, nanophysics, and quantum entanglement are brand new to this edition. Also new to this edition are entry-level web links and a web linked appendix. These recommended web links are accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Physics companion web page and provideuseful and relevant extra information. Appendices include SI units, the solar system, and the electromagnetic spectrum, plus a list of Nobel Prize winners and a chronology of key dates in physics. This fully revised and updated A-Z is an ideal introduction to the subject for anyone with an interest in physics, and it remains an indispensable reference work for students of physics and physics-related subjects (either at school or at university), and professionals.
