Skip to main content
YU Libraries are open to current YU students, faculty and staff.
Grab and Go
book pickup and
are also available.
about access to collections and other services.
Ask Us! - Live Chat
Search & Find
Research Jump Start
Archives & Special Collections
YAIR: Yeshiva Academic Institutional Repository
My YULIS Account
Group Study Rooms
Facilities Access Policy
Technology in Libraries
search library website
Find books, articles & more
Yeshiva University Libraries
Jewish Genealogical Research
Enter Search Words
Jewish Genealogical Research
A guide to conducting Jewish genealogical research.
Journals and Articles
Jewish Genealogy Sites
12 Free Jewish Genealogy Databases Online
Lists free online Jewish genealogy databases.
Arthur Kurzweil: Genealogy as a Spiritual Pilgrimage
Excerpts from the Malcolm R. Stern Memorial Lecture given at the 14th Summer Seminar on Jewish Genealogy, Washington, DC, June 28, 1995.
Center for Jewish History Genealogy Institute
Resources for Jewish genealogical research, including research guides, maps, family history collections, and family tree charts.
The Israel Genealogical Society
The State of Israel's genealogical organization, which offers research materials and support.
Records, research tools, and other resources.
JewishGen Yizkor (Memorial) Book Project
Access to bibliography of Yizkor books and some searchable translations.
Library of Congress- Genealogical Guides and Handbooks: Jewish
Bibliography of sources on Jewish genealogy.
New York Public Library Yizkor (Memorial) Book Collection
Approximately 730 yizkor books--memorial books of European communities after the Holocaust--from NYPL's collection, the largest collection of such books in the United States.
Resources for Sephardic genealogy.
Local Genealogical Societies
The Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Philadelphia
The Jewish Genealogical Society of New York
The Jewish Genealogical Society of Washington State
General Genealogy Sites
Collection of online genealogy records.
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Index to genealogical resources on the internet and list of links to online genealogical research sites.
Genealogy: The Complete Resource Guide
A comprehensive guide to the basics of genealogy research. Includes a list of online genealogy databases.
Primary documents that relate to those persecuted in the Holocaust. Contains information for around 17.5 million people. Includes deportation papers and concentration camp records.
Best Historical Photo Databases
A comprehensive list of online databases that provide historical photos.
National Archives- Immigration Records
Immigration records for various ports for the years 1800-1959.
The Statue of Liberty- Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.
Passenger search, ship search, and other resources.
Yad Vashem- The Central Database Of Shoah Victims' Names
Records and biographical information for 4.8 million of the six million Holocaust victims.
50 Questions to Ask Relatives About Family History
Top 10 Genealogy Mistakes to Avoid
Back to Top
500 West 185th Street
New York, NY 10033
Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Library
Offices & Services
© 2020 Yeshiva University Libraries
Terms And Conditions