chat loading...
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 Resources: Virtual Experiences

Virtual Experiences

Google Arts & Culture has hundreds of museums to explore online, and some museums are streaming or uploading virtual tours independently. Some have all their artifacts and artworks cataloged for up-close viewing rather than tours of full exhibits. Zoos, aquariums, and parks have provided many opportunities for virtual fun.   Click on the tabs below to get started.

Virtual Fun

The Art Institute of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Home to one of the largest permanent collections of any museum in the United States, The Art Institute of Chicago houses 260,000 pieces of art from across the centuries. Nearly 600 of those works are made accessible digitally through the Arts & Culture initiative, including Mary Cassatt’s "The Child’s Bath," Cézanne’s "The Basket of Apples" and Julia Margaret Cameron’s portrait of Julia Jackson.

Detroit Institute of Arts
Detroit, Michigan
One of the Midwest’s artistic crown jewels, the Detroit Institute of Arts houses an incredible collection––one of the top six in the United States––under its Beaux-Arts roof. Among its most notable holdings accessible online are Frida Kahlo’s "Self-Portrait on the Borderline Between Mexico and the United States," Caravaggio’s "Marth and Mary Magdalene," and Ruysch’s "Flowers in a Glass Vase."

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, is one of the most comprehensive art museums in the world with a collection that exemplifies the breadth, richness, and diversity of artistic expression, from prehistoric times to modern day.

The Frick Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
The Frick Pittsburgh is a cluster of museums and historical buildings located in Pittsburgh. It focuses on the interpretation of the life and times of Henry Clay Frick, industrialist and art collector

Georgia O’Keefe Museum
Santa Fe, New Mexico
A singularly American artist, Georgia O’Keefe famously lived her later years in the New Mexico desert, where the museum dedicated to her remains. The organization behind the institution advocates for the advancement of her legacy and also cares for many of O’Keefe’s paintings, 30 of which are viewable online, including "Above the Clouds 1," "Autumn Trees-The Maple" and "Two Pink Shells."

Getty Images
New York City, New York
If photography is more interesting to you and the kids, see snapshots from Apartheid boycotts, the fall of the Berlin Wall and more.

The J. Paul Getty Museum
Los Angeles, California
Featuring works from the eighth through to the 21st century, The J. Paul Getty Museum houses its collection in one of Los Angeles’s most striking buildings, with sweeping views of the city. Though visitors may not be able to appreciate either of those features in person, Google allows you to view nearly 16,000 pieces from the museum’s extensive holdings, including Rembrandt’s "Rembrandt Laughing," Renoir’s "La Promenade" and Van Gough’s "Irises."

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum
New York, New York
Founded in 1937, the Guggenheim is among the world’s foremost institutions dedicated to fostering an understanding of contemporary art and architecture. More than 200 works from its impressive holdings are viewable through Google’s portal. Google's street view feature allows you to explore the museum's exclusive Impressionist, Post-Impressionist, Modern, and Contemporary era art exhibits.  Many videos of artist profiles are available.

High Museum of Art
Atlanta, Georgia
The High Museum of Art is the leading art museum in the southeastern United States. With more than 15,000 works of art in its permanent collection, the High has an extensive anthology of 19th- and 20th-century American art; a substantial collection of historic and contemporary decorative arts and design.

The Intrepid: Sea, Air & Space Museum Complex
New York, New York

The Intrepid: Sea, Air & Space Museum Complex - The Intrepid website offers educational videos on the history and evolution of the Intrepid and other related topics. There is also an extensive offering of virtual and online educational programs.

The Jewish Museum
New York City, New York

The museum's mobile tours and online collection.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York City, New York
Arguably America’s premier museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art is a New York icon with one of the most celebrated collections anywhere in the world. Twenty-six virtual exhibits and over 200,000 documented works give digital viewers a taste of pretty much any art from nearly any era, from Pieter Bruegel The Elder’s "The Harvesters" to Chanel’s iconic suit. Online audio guides are available, and additional virtual tours can be found here.

 

Museum of Jewish Heritage -- A Living Memorial to the Holocaust
New York City, New York
Their exhibition Rendering Witness: Holocaust-Era Art as Testimony can be followed on an accompanying playlist.

Museum of Modern Art
New York, New York
Founded in 1929, the Museum of Modern Art was the first museum dedicated to collecting and presenting art from the modern era. The institution’s holdings showcase some of contemporary art history’s most famous paintings, from the likes of Van Gogh and Picasso. Google may only present 129 of those artworks, but they are some of the world’s most notable, including Henri Rousseau’s "The Dream," Van Gogh’s "The Starry Night," Cézanne’s "The Bather."

National Gallery of Art
Washington, DC
The country's capital is home to one of the most popular art museums in the US: the National Gallery of Art. And Google happens to feature two exhibits online, American Fashion from 1740 through 1895 and a collection from Dutch Baroque painter Johannes Vermeer.

National Gallery of Art
Washington, DC
This one’s for little history buffs. See everything from Renaissance to Baroque to Modern works, and learn about old-school American fashion or Vermeer.  More of their virtual exhibitions can be found here.

National Museum of American Jewish History
Philadelphia, PA
The museum presents educational programs, experiences, and exhibitions that preserve, explore, and celebrate the history of Jews in America.  Collection highlights can be found here.

National Museum of the United States Air Force
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio
You can't take a ride in Franklin D. Roosevelt's presidential airplane, but you can check it out, in addition to other military weapons and aircraft, online in the Air Force's official museum.

Petersen Automotive Museum
Los Angeles, California
Any budding car heads in your house? Get a livestream virtual tour of everything from antique cars to iconic motorcycles to celebrity hot rods for $3. Times vary, 1-2 tours a day.

Smithsonian Museum of Natural History
Washington, DC

Move at your own pace through the 360-degree room-by-room tour of every exhibit in the museum.

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Washington, DC
Immerse yourself in the Smithsonian's expansive National Portrait Gallery, which includes Portraits of African Americans, First Ladies, Votes for Women, and more.

Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery
Washington, DC
Teach the kids the story of America through artwork, performing arts and new media that cover the lives of those who’ve shaped the country. There are also impressive exhibits on First Ladies and Portraits of African Americans.

Whitney Museum of Modern Art
New York, New York
Check out the Meatpacking District's beloved museum of modern American art without dragging yourself over there.

Yeshiva University Museum
Although the Yeshiva University Museum is currently closed, online exhibitions and programs are available to experience elements of the museum from home. 

Acropolis Museum
Athens, Greece
Have the kids seen Disney’s Hercules? Give them a taste of the real thing by showing them famous sculptures and marble works from this archaeological site.

The British Museum
London, England
Explore the museum’s many objects and works from 2,000,000 BC and onward with this interactive timeline. See everything from Native American artifacts to Polynesian mourner’s costumes to Egyptian gravestones to the Rosetta Stone.

La Galleria Nazionale
Rome, Italy

With over 20,000 artworks, La Galleria Nazionale’s collection includes pieces from antiquity to more contemporary works belonging to the Futurism and Surrealism movements. Nearly 500 works from its collection are digitally documented, including Monet’s "Ninfee Rosa," Antonio Canova’s "Ercole e Lica" and Boldini’s "Ritratto di Mademoiselle Lanthèlme."

The Louvre
Paris, France
See three breathtaking exhibitions at this global icon. Teach the kids about ancient Egypt in Egyptian Antiquities, see what’s left of King Philippe Auguste’s 12th-century fortress at Remains of the Louvre’s Moat and see a breathtaking painted ceiling in the Galerie d’Apollon.  

Musée d’Orsay
Paris, France

A staple of Paris’s art scene, the Musée d’Orsay was built in 1900 in a former railway station and has since focused its   collection on art from 1848 to 1914. Experience the work of iconic French artists like Monet, Cézanne, and Gaugin. The   museum's diverse collection includes Van Gogh’s "Bedroom in Arles," Degas’s "The Ballet Class" and Millet’s "Gleaners."

Musei Vaticani
Vatican City, Italy
Marvel at the Sistine Chapel, Raphael’s Rooms, the Pio Clementino Museum and more at this religious landmark.

Museo Frida Kahlo
Mexico City, Mexico
It’s hard not to love this iconic painter. See a virtual exhibit on Kahlo’s wardrobe called Appearances Can Be Deceiving. Check out this virtual exhibit, Faces of Frida, to learn about her life, work and legacy, too.

Museu de Arte de São Paulo Assis Chateaubriand
São Paolo, Brazil
This is the South American country’s first modern museum. See pre-1900 Brazilian art and a breathtaking exhibit of works from the 4th century BC and on in the picture gallery.

National Gallery of Australia
Parkes, Australia
The collection of the National Gallery of Australia includes Australian art, Melanesia and Polynesia art, Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art, European art, Eastern and Western art, Modern art, abstract art, photography, and sculpture. The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art collection comprises over 7500 works and is the largest in the world.

National Museum
New Delhi, India

The National Museum has been India’s premier museum since opening its doors in 1949. Today, it is home to thousands of works of art spanning 5,000 years of history, including painting, sculpture, jewelry, ancient texts, armor and decorative arts. Over 600 of those items are documented for viewing online.

The National Museum of Anthropology - Mexico City
Mexico City, Mexico
The National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City – devoted to the archaeology and history of Mexico’s pre-Hispanic civilisations. It was inaugurated in 1964 and designed by Mexican architect Pedro Ramírez Vázquez.

National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea
Gwacheon-si, South Korea
Be blown away by a garden exhibit, the video art of Park Hyun-Ki and the abstract works of Yoo Youngkuk.

The Olympic Museum
Lausanne, Switzerland
Little jocks will be wowed by the many exhibitions of sports photography and athlete-specific galleries available for viewing.

Palace of Versailles
Versailles, France
This historic UNESCO World Heritage Site is home to famous oil paintings, The Hall of Mirrors and breathtaking gardens. See exhibits on coronations, French fashion, Louis XIV and more.  See more here.

Palace Museum
Beijing, China
Explore the galleries and residences of the Forbidden City in high definition. The site has an English interface, but information on individual objects is only in Chinese.

Rijksmuseum
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Get a taste of the Dutch Golden Age at Amsterdam's Rijksmuseum, with an array of art from notable names like Vermeer and Rembrandt.  Notable examples include Vermeer’s "The Milkmaid," Rembrandt’s "Self Portrait" and Verspronck’s "Portrait of a Girl Dressed in Blue."

The State Hermitage Museum
St. Petersburg, Russia
Take to YouTube to see Apple’s one-take walk through this famous institución. See 45 galleries, 588 pieces and live performances, all shot on an iPhone 11.

Tate Britain
London, England

One of the UK’s most respected museums, the Tate was opened in 1897 and has built perhaps the foremost collection of British art dating back to the the Tudor era and including a large holding of J.M.W. Turner’s work. Two-hundred and seventy works of arts––from Dante Gabriel Rosetti’s "Proserpine" to Millais’s "Ophelia"––are available through Google.

Tate Modern
London, England

Navigate London's modern art gallery via street view at Tate, which houses both national and international collections of art dating between the 1900s and present day.

Thyssen-Bornemisza Museo Nacional
Madrid, Spain
Madrid's must-see art museum has the works of some of the continent's most celebrated artists like Rembrandt and Dali available online. See an exhibit on Rembrant and Amsterdam portraiture, or Balenciaga and Spanish painting.

Uffizi Gallery
Florence, Italy
Designed by Giorgio Vasari in 1560 for a member of the powerful Medici family, the Uffizi Gallery is a standout even among Florence’s many storied institutions. Built over centuries, its holdings include some of Italy’s most important works from artists like Caravaggio's "Medusa" and Raphael's "Madonna of the Goldfinch." You can peruse 156 of them virtually.

Van Gogh Museum
Amsterdam, Netherlands
The Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam houses the largest collection of artworks by Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) in the world. The permanent collection includes over 200 paintings by Vincent van Gogh, 500 drawings and more than 750 letters. The museum also presents exhibitions on various subjects from 19th-century art history.

 

Animal Cams:

African Watering Hole

Earth Cam 
A wide variety of animal cams. 
Includes meerkat, bison, eagle, giraffe, owl, manatee cams and much more.

Atlanta Zoo  
Panda cam
Bald Eagle Cam
The first nesting pair of Bald Eagles in Pittsburgh in more than 150 years

Bat cam

Beardsley Zoo 
Red panda  and spider monkey cams.

Bear Watching Transylvania

Bronx Zoo 
Includes sea lions, aquatic bird house, Madagascar exhibit

Brooks Falls 
Katmai National Park in Alaska - Explore Bears and Bison

Chattanooga Zoo 
Includes meerkat, snow leopard, tamarin, and spotted genet cams.

Cheyanne Mountain Zoo  
Giraffe cams

Djuma Private Game Reserve 
A game reserve in South Africa

Houston Zoo 
Includes giraffe, gorilla, elephant, leafcutter ant, rhino, and chimp cams.

Kansas City Zoo  
Includes penguin, polar bear, and giraffe cams.

Kitten academy live stream

Maryland Zoo 
Includes penguin, lion, giraffe, flamingo, and goat cams.

Memphis Zoo 
Includes panda, hippo, and elephant cams.

Milwaukee Zoo
Includes polar bear, jaguar, Lake Wisconsin, African lion and hyena, tiger, and penguin cams.

San Diego Zoo Animals & Plants Live Cams 
Includes ape, baboon, condor, elephant, koala, panda, penguin, polar bear, and tiger cams.

Senior Dog Gathering Room

Sloth cam

Smithsonian's National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute  
Includes naked mole-rat, lion, giant panda, and elephant cams.

Adapted from:  https://tnstate.libguides.com/c.php?g=1015577&p=7363629 (Tennesee State University Library)

Blank Park Zoo Aquarium Cam  
Please note: The aquarium has day/night cycle lighting. The camera will be may not be available for viewing during these times.

Georgia Aquarium 
Has 9 underwater webcams including, Indo-Pacific barrier reef, beluga, southern sea otter, and California sea lion cams.

Monterey Bay Aquarium 
Includes aviary, jelly, coral reef, shark, sea otter, and penguin cams.

New England Aquarium 
Join them for live presentations, new videos, and activities to try from home.

Shedd Aquarium,
Chicago, IL  The aquarium encourages people to check its social media accounts for behind-the-scenes posts, and to learn more about aquatic animals through its digital resources.

Acadia National Park

Arches National Park
Badlands National Park
Big Bend National Park
Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park
Bryce Canyon in Utah
Canyonlands National Park
Carlsbad Caverns in New Mexico
Channel Islands National Park
Cuyahoga Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park
Denali National Park
Dry Tortugas in Florida
English Garden
Everglades National Park
Glacier National Park
Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Teton National Park
Great Smoky Mountain National Park
Guadalupe Mountains National Park
Hawai'i
Take a Google Earth tour of the Hawaiian Islands
Hawai'i Volcanoes
Joshua Tree National Park
Kenai Fjords in Alaska
Mesa Verde National Park
Mount Rainier National Park
Nature Conservancy of Oklahoma
Olympic National Park
Redwood National and State Park
Rocky Mountain National Park
Sequoia National Park
Shenandoah National Park
Travel Nevada
Virgin Islands National Park
Yosemite National Park
Zion National Park

Big Thunder Mountain Railroad

Disney World Rides | Big Thunder Mountain Railway 4K Smooth Ride Through.

Expedition Everest Roller Coaster

Disney World Rides | Expedition Everest Roller Coaster POV 4K.

Frozen Ever After

With the massive success of The Disney Movie Frozen EPCOT's Classic Maelstrom attraction (at Norway within the World showcase) has made way for "Frozen Ever After."

The Haunted Mansion

Walt Disney World Rides | Haunted Mansion Ride POV | Magic Kingdom | FL Attractions 360.

Hollywood Tower of Terror

Disney World Rides POV Videos | Hollywood Tower of Terror FULL RIDE at Hollywood Studios.

It's a Small World

4K 360° views and be sure to look for Dream Disney where you can see FRONT & BACK Views and FLAT 360° every video is in 4K. So you can look where you want.

Monsters Inc.

Hop aboard a Monstropolis Transit Taxi for a journey thru Monstropolis and help Mike and Sulley return Boo back to the human world before the other monsters get her.

Pirates of the Carribean

Disney World | Magic Kingdom Pirates of the Caribbean Ride.

Splash Mountain

Disney World Rides Videos | Splash Mountain FULL Ride POV | Magic Kingdom | FL Attractions 360.

Star Wars Rise of the Resistance

NEW Star Wars Ride | Rise of The Resistance Full Ride Through 4K | Walt Disney World Hollywood Studios.

Star Wars Millennium Falcon Smugglers Run

Star Wars Ride Millennium Falcon Smugglers Run 4K | Walt Disney World Galaxy's Edge.

Adapted from https://tnstate.libguides.com/c.php?g=1015577&p=7355799 (Tennessee State University Libraries)

Amazing Adventures of Spider-Man

This is a Front On-Ride POV of The Amazing Adventures of Spider-Man 3D in HD.

The Cat in the Hat

Go for a spin with The Cat in the Hat as you ride your couch through the pages of Dr. Seuss's, best-loved children's book. This delightful ride takes the story of The Cat in the Hat and re-creates it scene for scene.

Dr. Doom's Fear Fall

All hail Doctor Doom®! The Fantastic Four's arch-nemesis has taken fear to new heights! As a subject of Doctor Doom's monarchy of Latveria you have no choice but to submit to his latest evil experiment -- a diabolical device created to extract every ounce of fear from your body so that he can use it against the Fantastic Four™

Dudley Do-Right's Ripsaw Falls

Dudley Do-Right's Ripsaw Falls is a log flume ride at Islands of Adventure in Orlando, Florida

Hagrid's Magical Creatures Motorbike Adventure

Frontseat On-Ride POV Islands Of Adventure.

Harry Potter and the Escape from Gringott's

Footage of the pre show room, Queue, and elevator POV of Gringott's roller coaster at Diagon Alley, Universal Florida.

Harry Potter: The Forbidden Journey

This is an On-Ride POV in HD of Harry Potter and The Forbidden Journey at Universal's Islands Of Adventure Florida (IOA).

The Incredible Hulk

This is a Front Seat POV of the Incredible Hulk Roller Coaster at Universal
Studios Islands Of Adventure.

JAWS

Great White shark encounter at Amity Island, Universal Studios Florida that is now sadly closed for Harry Potter.

Jurassic Park River Adventure

This is a POV of Jurassic Park The Ride or River Adventure at Universal Studios Islands of Adventure in Orlando Florida. Video includes some off-ride footage and POV in HD.

Revenge of the Mummy

Video Includes POV, Line, Queue. Enjoy and watch in HD.

Rip Ride Rockit

Check out this On-Ride HD POV of the Hollywood Rip Ride Rockit at Universal Studios Orlando Florida.

Adapted from https://tnstate.libguides.com/c.php?g=1015577&p=7355799 (Tennessee State University Libraries)

Access Mars    
See the view from the Curiosity Rover.  
Botanical Gardens
Eight Botanical Gardens to explore virtually, including New York and Brooklyn

Earth Cam
Travel the globe with live webcams

Great Wall of China

National Park Service Webcams

New York City-Times Square

Northern Lights

Panama Canal

Petra

Stonehenge

Taj Mahal