University Libraries: Physician Assistant Studies: Evidence-Based Practice: Key Resources

Key Databases & Search Engines

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Current online editions of medical reference and clinical texts, health news, patient education, a diagnostic tool, and a drug database.
Anatomy Atlases This link opens in a new window
A collection of atlases written by anatomy professors covering general anatomy, anatomy in cross-section, microscopic anatomy, anatomy of first aid, and human anatomic variation,
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Database and reference tool of medical and surgical textbooks, journals, and multimedia. Search/browse Consult/Clinical Overviews, Drug Monographs, Guidelines (treatment and practice), Patient Education, and Procedures Consult, NOTE: To download PDFs, first create an account and log in.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Review abstracts of primary research in healthcare, prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation, using evidence-based data and meta-analysis.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Index to international biomedical literature, from 1947- present.
Explore Embase (University of Bath)
Mednar This link opens in a new window
Free deep web search engine for grey literature in medicine. Provides access to high-quality resources not usually indexed by popular search engines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles, many with full-text links, from thousands of journals in biochemistry/medicine.
YUFIND This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles in this discovery tool.

Key Journals

Top Primary Care Journals

Other Relevant Journals

Affiliations

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) - Provides practice exams for the PANCE and PANRE and information about maintaining certification through continuing medical education (CME).

American Academy of PAs (AAPA) - the national professional society for PAs. Provides information regarding certification and licensure, CME opportunities, jobs (PA JobSource), and events.

PA Professional Organizations - by state and specialty

Physician Assistant Education Association (PAEA) scholarships and fellowships