University Libraries: Writing Social Science: Some Helpful Sources

Databases for Political Science Research

CQ Press Library

Comprehensive reporting and analysis on social and political issues in the news and on congressional activity. Includes CQ Researcher, and Political Handbook of the World.
JSTOR

Searches academic journals and books in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full-text access to most journal articles.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) - First time users: click "Create a Profile Now."

New platform with full-text of over 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Register to obtain a user ID and password. Once signed in, click on your name and then "Settings" to personalize your searches.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Continuously updated information on over 5,000 social issues, culled from pro/con essays, reference book and journal articles, websites, podcasts and videos.
ProQuest Social Science Journals

Access to information about articles covering a range of topics in social work, sociology, psychology, economics, and many other disciplines, most with full-text access.
Social Sciences Full Text

Information about articles from 625+ social science journals, most of them peer-reviewed, with selected links to full text.

U.S. Statistics

FedStats
Searchable statistics from over 100 Federal Agencies.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Searchable and downloadable data with introductory essays from experts to contextualize the data.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Downloadable data and information from the federal government related to US and international education.
Quick Health Data Online
Searchable and downloadable data on a variety of health related topics including mortality, infectious and chronic diseases, mental health, and many more. Provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

New York City Data

World Data

World Bank - Data
Free access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Israel: Central Bureau of Statistics
Searchable and downloadable census data from the Israeli government.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A library database with continuously updated information on over 5,000 social issues, culled from pro/con essays, reference book and journal articles, websites, podcasts and videos.

ProCon.org
A website that presents both sides of issues.
AllSides.com
A platform for balanced news that presents a wide variety of perspectives on current news and issues.

U.S. Federal Government Information

FDsys
Official Federal Government Information.
MetaLib
Retrieves reports, articles, and citations from Federal Government databases and provides direct links to selected resources available online.

The Congressional Record
Searchable database of the verbatim record of Senate and House sessions, along with bills, resolutions, motions, etc.
The White House
The State Department
State Department: Office of the Historian
Extensive collections of documents related to foreign relations of the US. Fully searchable database.
The Congressional Budget Office

Administration for Children & Families
Find information about grants, programs, and other resources offered by the the US Dept. of Health and Human Services' Administration for Children & Families and affiliated offices
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and 2200 websites from 15 federal science-related agencies.
Ask a Government Information Librarian
Get help from experts at finding information from U.S. government agencies of all levels (local, state, regional, and national)

State & Local Government Information

Checklist of Official Publications of New York State
Full-text access to official documents.
GovEngine.com
Search engine for finding government websites.
New York City
Official government website of the City of New York.

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
Polling Organizations
A list of notable polling organizations by country. All the major television networks, alone or in conjunction with the largest newspapers or magazines, in virtually every country with elections, operate their own versions of polling operations, in collaboration or independently through various applications.