Holocaust Studies Resources

A good place to start your research. Contains academic articles in a wide variety of subject areas, including humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Indexes over 153,000 dissertations and theses submitted to American universities from 1902 to the present, with links to the full text of many, where freely available.

This popular genealogical site includes information on Jewish survivors, forced labor, and Holocaust memorials.

Contains over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.

Provides full text of articles and reviews on religion and theology from over 500 titles from as early as 1881 through the present. Also indexes thousands of essay, book, and journal records.

A collection of policy-relevant research and analysis on Jewish life from the early twentieth century into the twenty-first. Documents from leading authors, journals, and organizations focus upon Jewish communal life, education, identity, religion, social activism, demographic trends, leadership, and organizational development.

A newspaper digitization project of Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities providing full text access to select American newspapers with varied coverage from 1789 through 1963.

Worldwide dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present, with full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong full text coverage for older graduate works.

A centralized, freely accessible database of millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.

(pronounced Encyclopedia Judaica)
Covers Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies - Contains over 4,400 testimonies.
How to Use the Archive
Create an account: Click Login and then Join Now. Click the link in the confirmation email.
Log in to your account.
You will now have access the entire collection.
In certain instances you may need to request access.

A massive book digitization project, Google Books is arguably the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books. To limit your search to books available in full text click on the "Full view" radio button.

Articles from scholarly journals and e-books.
How to Use Google Scholar

A vast array of digitized Jewish newspapers that span many languages and countries, published from the 19th to early 20th century. Search by keyword or browse by title, date, or subject.

A searchable encyclopedia of entries related to all aspects of the Holocaust.

A collection of English-language articles in over 218 journals covering Jewish culture, history, literature, and thought.

A collection of materials published in the Yiddish press, especially about Jewish communities in Eastern Europe and abroad, political and cultural Jewish movements, institutions, Yiddish and Hebrew writers and actors, and trends in all fields of Jewish Culture.

Infotrac Newsstand provides access to full-text of 1000 plus newspapers, both national and international. Newspapers are searchable by title, headlinne, date, and newspaper section.

A free lending library of over 8 million e-books, including a large collection for users with print disabilities.

A collection of texts on the people of Israel, the emergence of Judaism, post-Enlightenment Jewish life, and other aspects of Jewish history.

The complete text of The Jerusalem Post from 1932 through 2008.

Compiled by Diane Romm, this is an annotated list of over 350 sites that house digitized collections of Jewish material divided into 22 subject areas.

Full text journals covering diverse topics in Jewish studies. Also includes some e-books and brief biographies.

Full-text encyclopedic database of Jewish history, politics, and religion, arranged in multiple formats --research starters, primary archival documents, factual analyses, timelines, maps, publications such as "Myths and Facts," and images.

Searches academic journals and books in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full-text access to most journal articles.

Contains information about resources in the libraries of the European Network of Judaica and Hebraica Libraries.

Holocaust memorial book translations from the JewishGen Yizkor Book Project.

700 Yizkor books from the collection of the New York Public Library, largely digitized in partnership with the Yiddish Book Center.