Psychology

This guide is designed to assist you in the research and writing of undergraduate term papers in the field of Psychology:

I.   Finding and defining your topic;

II.  Finding relevant books and articles for your topic;

III. Things to keep in mind as you write your paper; 

IV. Citing sources;

V.  Resources choosing a major or career in Psychology.

Having trouble finding your topic?                                               

HINT: Surfing articles on a database to find a topic is not the way to do it!
But the following resources can help:

ONLINE:

• "Psychological Science in the News" on the Association for Psychological Science site             
• Encyclopedia Britannica Online
• Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

BOOKS:

Check the BF reference section of the YU library. An encyclopedia of psychology provides summaries of various branches and topics in psychology.

The following psychology reference books can be found at the Pollack Library (Wilf Campus) and Hedi Steinberg Library (Beren Campus):

·  Encyclopedia of Psychology (Reference BF31 E52 2000)
·  McGill's Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology (Reference BF31 M33 2003)
·  Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology (Reference BF31 E52 2010)

 Image Credit: Self Development CzeMSA Praha: Tips For Medical Student Entering Intern Year (selfdpraha.blogspot.com)

Having trouble finding or focusing your topic?
The following resources can help:

 Additionally, a number of print sources may be found in the BF reference section of both campuses, such as:

•  Encyclopedia of Psychology (Reference BF31 E52 2000)
• McGill's Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology (Reference BF31 M33 2003)
• Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology (Reference BF31 E52 2010)

Rina Krautwirth, and Hindishe Lee are responsible for the contents of this research guide. You can reach them at (respectively): 

rina.krautwirth@yu.edu,

hlee1@yu.edu.