Databases for Psychology
"First-Pick" Psychology Databases
PsycARTICLES - From the American Psychological Association, full-text, peer-reviewed psychology articles from nearly 80 journals, 1894 - present.
PsycINFO - Summaries of articles, chapters, books, and dissertations, 1600s - present, most with links to full-text.
Other Psychology Databases
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing - Full-text access to key psychoanalytic journals, 1871 to 2008 (some with access to current issues) and classic works.
Psychotherapy.net Video Library - A comprehensive collection of psychotherapy and counseling training videos covering a range of approaches, tools and techniques. Videos feature master therapists doing clinical demonstrations and discussing their work as well as additional resources.
PsycTESTS - Full-text access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and surveys, plus information about the tests' scope, implementation, and reliability and validity data (when available).
HAPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments - Identifies detailed information on measurement instruments, eg., questionnaires, interview schedules, index measures, and rating scales in the health, psychology, and social sciences fields.
Mental Measurements Yearbook - Reviews of testing instruments (surveys, scales, etc.) in psychology, education, business, etc.
Related Science Databases
AccessMedicine - Current online editions of medical reference and clinical texts, health news, patient education, a diagnostic tool, and a drug database.
PubMed (Medline) - Access to information about millions of articles from thousands of journals (some with links to full text) in biochemistry/medicine, and related fields.
Semantic Scholar - AI-driven search engine searching 40 million+ peer-reviewed papers in computer science and neuroscience. Keyword search results are distilled to the most relevant and influential papers.
Social Sciences Full Text - Information about articles from 625+ social science journals, most of them peer-reviewed, with selected links to full text.
Scitable - Overviews of science topics with links to full-text articles on other sites. Geared toward the college audience.
Educational Psychology
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center - Educational Resources Information Center - Indexes education journals and reports. with full text links to articles.
Education Full Text - Research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Includes full-text education journals on the essentials of education and related fields of study, with in-depth coverage of special education.
Educators Reference Complete - Includes different search modes, including a Topic Finder.
Selected General Databases
Academic Search Complete - Contains academic articles in a wide variety of subject areas, including humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Google Scholar (customized for access to YU-subscribed full text) - Articles from scholarly journals and e-books. (To get full-text (where available), enter the keywords or article title in the search box and click on the top link (If there are two) to the right of the result.)
JSTOR - Searches academic journals and books in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full-text access to most journal articles.
Dissertation Databases
American Doctoral Dissertations - Indexes over 153,000 dissertations and theses submitted to American universities from 1902 to the present, with links to the full text of many, where freely available.
Dissertations & Theses Global - Worldwide dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present, with full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong full text coverage for older graduate works.
YUFind
A "discovery service" system sweeping many YU library electronic databases with a single search. YUFind covers YULIS (the YU library catalog for books - physical and electronic) and many YU databases for online articles.
