Psychology

To find articles on a subject, one must begin by first searching databases. Most of the databases in this section provide the full text of articles directly, others only the citation, or the citation and the abstract (summary) of the article. Click "Get Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" to access the article. If no full text is available, check the Journals tab on the library home page to see if YU has that journal in paper copy; and, if not, then request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

If you have only the citation or abstract of an article that was NOT derived from a YU database, as described above, go to YUFind on the library homepage to search for the full text there. Again, if you are unsuccessful, check the Journals tab to see if YU has that journal in paper copy; and, if not, then request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

Your professor may require you to utilize only peer reviewed sources.

What are peer reviewed articles?

Definitions:

Scholarly or Academic Journals (or books): books or journals in which the scholarship or research of an academic discipline is published. Scholarly journals are usually but not always peer-reviewed. 

Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Journals (or articles, or books): articles or books submitted to a panel of experts in the discipline for review prior to publication. This process provides a greater assurance that the research presented is sound.

From: Yeshiva University LibGuide Finding Sources by YU Reference Librarian  Linda Miles - Last Updated Jan 14, 2014  http://libguides.yu.edu/Sources/Scholarly