YU Library Science Databases and Journals
The YU Library databases, accessed from the YU Library home page, have subdivisions by discipline. To access subject databases:
- Click on the "Databases" tab on the YU Library home page (shown to the right)
- Click on "Full List of Databases"
- Click on "All Subjects" from the pull down menu
- Choose "General Science, Mathematics, and Technology" or "Life Sciences, Psychology, and Health" to access a list of YU's databases specific to those sciences
To access scientific journals:
- Click on the "Journals" tab on the YU Library home page (shown to the right)
- Type in a journal title, subject, publisher, or ISSN- this will bring up all of the journals to which YU subscribes on that subject
General Science Databases
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorldwide dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present, with full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong full text coverage for older graduate works.
- Science.gov This link opens in a new windowSearches over 60 databases and 2200 websites from 15 federal science-related agencies.
- CheggStudy resources on various topics, including the sciences.
- Scitable This link opens in a new windowOverviews of science topics with links to full-text articles on other sites. Geared toward the college audience.
Selected List of General Science Journals
General Science Textbooks
The Sciences: An Integrated Approach by
This text is an unbound, three hole punched version. The Sciences: An Integrated Approach, Binder Ready Version, 8th Edition by James Trefil and Robert Hazen uses an approach that recognizes that science forms a seamless web of knowledge about the universe. This text fully integrates physics, chemistry, astronomy, earth sciences, and biology and emphasizes general principles and their application to real- world situations. The goal of the text is to help students achieve scientific literacy. Applauded by students and instructors for its easy-to-read style and detail appropriate for non-science majors, the eighth edition has been updated to bring the most up-to-date coverage to the students in all areas of science.
ISBN: 1119049687Publication Date: 2016-09-13
The Sciences by
A solid text with all the key coverage needed, The Sciences: An Integrated Approach, 7th Edition Binder Ready Version focuses on updated information on the science, examples and integration. Additionally, the new issue includes additional virtual labs, updated end-of-chapter activities, extensively revised biology coverage and online, stepped-out math problems to reinforce problem solving and integration of information. This text is an unbound, binder-ready edition.
Call Number: Q161.2 .T74 2013ISBN: 1118130359Publication Date: 2012-09-17
Search the Library
Click on the relevant tab and enter your search terms below:
