Resources for Studies in Biology
YU Library Biology Databases
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowCurrent online editions of medical reference and clinical texts, health news, patient education, a diagnostic tool, and a drug database.
- Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new windowReview abstracts of primary research in healthcare, prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation, using evidence-based data and meta-analysis.
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics This link opens in a new windowCovers topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment.
- Faculty Opinions This link opens in a new windowIdentifies important articles in biology and medical research publications. Articles are selected by a peer-nominated global 'Faculty' of the world's leading scientists and clinicians.
- HAPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new windowIdentifies detailed information on measurement instruments, eg., questionnaires, interview schedules, index measures, and rating scales in the health, psychology, and social sciences fields. Helpful for research studies, grant proposals, client and program assessment, and dissertations. Please logoff when done.
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowFind articles on health topics such as fitness, pregnancy, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, from nursing and allied health journals and reference books and from newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.
- Medical Ethics and Halacha This link opens in a new windowA database of articles and texts under the auspices of the Dr. Falk Schlesinger Institute for Medical-Halachic Research at Shaare Zedek Medical Center.
Search in Hebrew or English. - NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window(National Center for Biotechnology Information) - fully searchable, full-text biomedical e-books.
- NOAH: New York Online Access to Health This link opens in a new windowProvides “access to high quality full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish that is accurate,timely, relevant and unbiased." Collaboration of New York Public Library, CUNY Office of Library Services, and other NYC libraries.
- ODPHP's Health Portals This link opens in a new windowHealth.gov: Health literacy, physical activity and dietary guidelines, and health care quality initiatives
Healthfinder.gov: Information on diseases, nutrition, and other health topics; and health care provider directories
Healthy People 2020: National health objectives and guidance to improve health across the country - PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of articles, many with full-text links, from thousands of journals in biochemistry/medicine.
To filter results by full text articles, select full text . To limit to open access (freely accessible text), select free full text .
Biology Textbooks
Laboratory Manual for Human Biology by
The Laboratory Manual provides an emphasis on critical thinking and includes Safety Guidelines, Objectives, A List of Materials Needed, Topic Introduction, Activities with embedded questions, and Critical Thinking Questions.
Call Number: QP34.5 .J645 2017 Lab ManualISBN: 0134283813Publication Date: 2016-03-18
Human Body Systems: Structure, Function, and Environment by
Human Body Systems: Structure, Function, and Environment is an informative primer that focuses on the organ systems within the human body, and their part in health and disease. The ideal supplement to any Human Biology, A & P, or Microbiology course, it covers:-Nutrition-Digestion-Circulation and Blood-Immunity-Respiration-Senses-Urinary System-Nervous System- Skeletal and Muscular Systems- Endocrine and Reproductive SystemsIt closes with a brief discussion of ecology and environmental issues that affect the way humans live and interact with the world around them.
Call Number: QP34.5 .C4855 2013ISBN: 1449647936Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Biology Laboratory Manual by
The Biology Laboratory Manual by Vodopich and Moore was designed for an introductory biology course with a broad survey of basic laboratory techniques. The experiments and procedures are simple, safe, easy to perform, and especially appropriate for large classes. Few experiments require more than one class meeting to complete the procedure. Each exercise includes many photographs, traditional topics, and experiments that help students learn about life. Procedures within each exercise are numerous and discrete so that an exercise can be tailored to the needs of the students, the style of the instructor, and the facilities available.
ISBN: 1259544877Publication Date: 2016-01-06
A Dissection Guide and Atlas to the Fetal Pig by
A Dissection Guide & Atlas to the Fetal Pig is designed to provide students with a comprehensive introduction to the anatomy of the fetal pig. This full-color dissection guide and atlas gives the student carefully worded directions for learning basic mammalian anatomy through the use of a fetal pig specimen. Great care has gone into the preparation of accurate and informative illustrations and the presentation of quality color photographs and photomicrographs. The text is clearly written, and dissection instructions are set apart from the text to assist the student in the lab. Each chapter begins with a list of objectives, and tables are utilized to conveniently summarize key information. To facilitate ease of use in the laboratory setting, student versions of this title are three-hole drilled and in loose-leaf format.
Call Number: QL813.P54 S65 2011ISBN: 0895828790Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Van de Graaff's Photographic Atlas for the Biology Laboratory by
A Photographic Atlas for the Biology Laboratory, Seventh Edition by Byron J. Adams and John L. Crawley is a full-color photographic atlas that provides a balanced visual representation of the diversity of biological organisms. It is designed to accompany any biology textbook or laboratory manual.
Call Number: QH308.2 .V363 2013ISBN: 1617310581Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Before We Are Born by
As the study of embryology continues to be integrated with a range of disciplines, Before We Are Born remains the ideal solution for students who need to quickly learn the basics. Fully updated by the world's foremost embryologists, this medical reference book provides concise guidance on human embryology at every stage of development, utilizing rich illustrations and photographs designed to further explain content. Understand all of the latest advances in embryology, including normal and abnormal embryogenesis, causes of birth defects, and the role of genes in human development. See how discoveries in molecular biology have affected clinical practice, including the development of sophisticated new techniques such as recumbent DNA technology and stem cell manipulation. Prepare for the USMLE Step 1 with clinical case presentations, highlighted in special boxes, which demonstrate how embryology concepts relate to clinical practice. Quickly review just the embryology information you need to know, masterfully distilled from the popular book The Developing Human, written by the same author team. Understand the complex concepts inherent in embryology with help from streamlined content, didactic illustrations, and clinical photos. Test your knowledge with brand-new review questions at the end of each chapter. Searchable, portable, shareable, and perpetual, this Student Consult title offers enhanced features that allow you to interact with your content like never before.
Call Number: QM601 .M757 2016ISBN: 032331337XPublication Date: 2015-01-21
Selected List of Biology Journals
PubMed Tutorials
- PubMed Online TutorialsTutorials, quick tours, webcasts and videos, classes, and handouts.
Cell Model
The Extracellular Matrix
- Biology Online Dictionary - Extracellular MatrixDefinition, supplemental information, linked related terms, and reference for the term extracellular matrix.
- Quizlet - Extracellular MatrixInformation, flashcards, and tests about the extracellular matrix.
Nutrition Resources
- Antioxidants (Journal)International, peer-reviewed, open access journal founded in 2012 that provides current research on antioxidants.
- Journal of NutritionPublishes original research, critical reviews, commentary, opinions, biographies and historical perspectives on biochemical and molecular roles of nutrients, community and international nutrition, human and clinical nutrition and metabolism.
- Nutrition JournalOpen access, peer-reviewed journal on topics within nutrition.
- Article about Fructan IntoleranceArticle published by Tufts University Medical Center that provides information and recommendations about fructan intolerance.
