Resources for Studies in Physics
YU Library Physics Databases
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowAn archive of electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
- Crystallography Journals Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to journals from the International Union of Crystallography.
- PROLA - Physical Review Online Archive This link opens in a new windowArticles from the journal Physical Review (1893-1969), from a leading physics association.
Physics Textbooks
Fundamentals of Physics Extended by
The 10th edition of Halliday's Fundamentals of Physics, Extended building upon previous issues by offering several new features and additions. The new edition offers most accurate, extensive and varied set of assessment questions of any course management program in addition to all questions including some form of question assistance including answer specific feedback to facilitate success. The text also offers multimedia presentations (videos and animations) of much of the material that provide an alternative pathway through the material for those who struggle with reading scientific exposition. Furthermore, the book includes math review content in both a self-study module for more in-depth review and also in just-in-time math videos for a quick refresher on a specific topic. The Halliday content is widely accepted as clear, correct, and complete. The end-of-chapters problems are without peer. The new design, which was introduced in 9e continues with 10e, making this new edition of Halliday the most accessible and reader-friendly book on the market. WileyPLUS sold separately from text.
Call Number: QC21.3 .H35 2014ISBN: 1118230728Publication Date: 2013-08-05
Modern Physics by
For the intermediate-level course, the Sixth Edition of this widely used text takes modern physics textbooks to a higher level. With a flexible approach to accommodate the various ways of teaching the course (both one- and two-term tracks are easily covered), the authors recognize the audience and its need for updated coverage, mathematical rigor, and features to build and support student understanding. Continued are the superb explanatory style, the up-to-date topical coverage, and the Web enhancements that gained earlier editions worldwide recognition. The Sixth Edition includes the discoveries that have further enlarged modern physics in the first decade of the new century, takes note of the evolution that is occurring in the teaching of physics in colleges and universities, and recognizes the growing role of modern physics in the biological sciences.
Call Number: QC21.3 .T56 2012ISBN: 142925078XPublication Date: 2012-01-01
Physics by
This text is intended for algebra-based introductory physics courses taken primarily by pre-med, agricultural, technology and architectural students.
Call Number: QC23 .G399 2005ISBN: 0130606200Publication Date: 2004-08-09
Quantum Physics of Atoms Solids, Molecules, Nuclei and Particles by
A revision of a successful junior/senior level text, this introduction to elementary quantum mechanics clearly explains the properties of the most important quantum systems. Emphasizes the applications of theory, and contains new material on particle physics, electron-positron annihilation in solids and the Mossbauer effect. Includes new appendices on such topics as crystallography, Fourier Integral Description of a Wave Group, and Time-Independent Perturbation Theory.
Call Number: QC174.12 .E34 1985ISBN: 047187373XPublication Date: 1985-02-14
