Resources for Studies in Chemistry
YU Library Chemistry Databases
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowFrom the National Center for Biotechnology Information, searchable information on the biological activities of substances, compounds, and small molecules, includes chemical structure similarity search tool.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowChemistry research database. Search for substances, reactions, patents, and journal articles.
Chemistry Textbooks
Basic Biochemical Methods 2ed by
Offers a concise introduction to fundamental laboratory methods in experimental, analytical and clinical/diagnostic biochemistry. Outlines underlying concepts; presents practical protocols; details common applications of techniques for characterizing nucleic acids, proteins, carbohydrates and lipids. New features include information on recombinant DNA and molecular biology.
Call Number: QP519 .A44 1993ISBN: 0471561533Publication Date: 1993-03-16
Experimental Biochemistry by
This edition of Experimental Biochemistry is a perfect fit for today's biochemistry laboratory course. It provides comprehensive coverage of important techniques used in contemporary biochemical research and gives students the background theory they need to understand the nature of the experiments. Thoroughly classroom tested, the experiments incorporate the full range of biochemical materials in an attempt to simulate work in a research lab. In addition, a comprehensive appendix provides detailed procedures for preparation of reagents and materials, as well as helpful suggestions for the instructor. Custom Publishing Create a customized version of this text or mix and match it with similar titles with W.H. Freeman Custom Publishing!
Call Number: QP519 .S95 1999ISBN: 0716733005Publication Date: 1999-04-21
Experiments in Biochemistry by Call Number: QP519 .M56 1989ISBN: 0132952394Publication Date: 1989-03-01
Fundamental Laboratory Approaches for Biochemistry and Biotechnology by
Ninfa/Ballou/Benore is a solid biochemistry lab manual, dedicated to developing research skills in students, allowing them to learn techniques and develop the organizational approaches necessary to conduct laboratory research. Ninfa/Ballou/Benore focuses on basic biochemistry laboratory techniques with a few molecular biology exercises, a reflection of most courses which concentrate on traditional biochemistry experiments and techniques. The manual also includes an introduction to ethics in the laboratory, uncommon in similar manuals. Most importantly, perhaps, is the authors' three-pronged approach to encouraging students to think like a research scientist: first, the authors introduce the scientific method and the hypothesis as a framework for developing conclusive experiments; second, the manual's experiments are designed to become increasingly complex in order to teach more advanced techniques and analysis; finally, gradually, the students are required to devise their own protocols. In this way, students and instructors are able to break away from a "cookbook" approach and to think and investigate for themselves. Suitable for lower-level and upper-level courses; Ninfa spans these courses and can also be used for some first-year graduate work.
Call Number: QP519 .N55 2010ISBN: 0470087668Publication Date: 2009-05-26
Fundamentals of Analytical Chemistry by
Known for its readability and systematic, rigorous approach, this fully updated Ninth Edition of FUNDAMENTALS OF ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY offers extensive coverage of the principles and practices of analytic chemistry and consistently shows students its applied nature. The book's award-winning authors begin each chapter with a story and photo of how analytic chemistry is applied in industry, medicine, and all the sciences. To further reinforce student learning, a wealth of dynamic photographs by renowned chemistry photographer Charlie Winters appear as chapter-openers and throughout the text. Incorporating Excel spreadsheets as a problem-solving tool, the Ninth Edition is enhanced by a chapter on Using Spreadsheets in Analytical Chemistry, updated spreadsheet summaries and problems, an "Excel Shortcut Keystrokes for the PC" insert card, and a supplement by the text authors, EXCEL APPLICATIONS FOR ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY, which integrates this important aspect of the study of analytical chemistry into the book's already rich pedagogy. New to this edition is OWL, an online homework and assessment tool that includes the Cengage YouBook, a fully customizable and interactive eBook, which enhances conceptual understanding through hands-on integrated multimedia interactivity. Available with InfoTrac Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
ISBN: 0495558281Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Fundamentals of Analytical Chemistry by
FUNDAMENTALS OF ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY, EIGHTH EDITION is known for its readability combined with a systematic, rigorous approach that characterizes this classic text. Extensive coverage of the principles and practices of quantitative chemistry ensures suitability for chemistry majors. These award-winning authors include applications throughout industry, medicine, and all the sciences. The text's new design and wealth of new photographs by renowned chemistry photographer Charlie Winters serve to reinforce student learning through dynamic visuals. Reflecting the increased emphasis of spreadsheets as a tool in analytical chemistry, this new edition adds an additional chapter, new problems and a new supplement, EXCEL APPLICATIONS FOR ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY, that integrate this important aspect of the study of analytical chemistry into its already rich pedagogy. In addition, the INTERACTIVE ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY CD-ROM, packaged FREE with every new text, enhances conceptual understanding through hands-on integrated multimedia interactivity.
Call Number: QD75.22 .F865 2003ISBN: 0030355230Publication Date: 2003-08-07
Introductory Chemistry by
To help students learn chemical skills and concepts more effectively, Introductory Chemistry: Concepts and Critical Thinking, Sixth Edition highlights the connection between key concepts and key problem-solving skills through critical thinking. Math and problem solving are covered early in the text; Corwin builds your problem-solving ability through innovative learning aids and technology formulated to meet your needs. This revision retains all the strengths of the previous editions, while adding emphasis on conceptual understanding and critical thinking.
Call Number: QD33.2 .C67 2011ISBN: 0321663055Publication Date: 2010-01-03
Laboratory Handbook for General Chemistry by
LABORATORY HANDBOOK FOR GENERAL CHEMISTRY (accompanied by free access to an online resource center) is the perfect guide to lead you down the path of success. This how-to tool is supplemented by an instructional video and will provide you with information on everything from basic equipment to operations that are necessary for successful laboratory experiments.
Call Number: QD45 .L23 2007ISBN: 0495018902Publication Date: 2006-01-13
Laboratory Techniques in Organic Chemistry by
Laboratory Techniques in Organic Chemistry is the most comprehensive and detailed presentation of the lab techniques organic chemistry students need to know. Compatible with any organic chemistry lab manual or set of experiments, it combines specific instructions for three different kinds of laboratory glassware: miniscale, standard taper microscale, and Williamson microscale. It is written to provide effective support for guided-inquiry and design-based experiments and projects, as well as for traditional lab experiments.
Call Number: QD261 .L32 2014ISBN: 1464134227Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Modern Experimental Biochemistry by
KEY BENEFIT The latest edition of this successful text provides readers with a modern and complete experience in experimental biochemistry. Part I, Theory and Experimental Techniques, provides in-depth theoretical discussion organized around important techniques. A valuable reference for instructors and students, it's particularly useful to instructors who prefer to use their own customized experiments. Part II, Experiments, offers optimum flexibility through 15 tested experiments designed to accommodate the capabilities of laboratories and students at most four-year schools. Alternate methods are suggested and labs may be divided into manageable hour segments. The book offers the latest safety and environmental precautions in each experiment to inform students and instructors of potential hazards and proper disposal of materials. For anyone interested in science.
Call Number: QP519.7 .B68 2000ISBN: 0805331115Publication Date: 2000-08-02
Organic Chemistry by
Master organic chemistry with the help of this proven best-seller! John McMurry's ORGANIC CHEMISTRY is consistently praised as the most clearly written book available for the course. In John McMurry's words: "I wrote this book because I love writing. I get great pleasure and satisfaction from taking a complicated subject, turning it around until I see it clearly from a new angle, and then explaining it in simple words." Through his lucid writing and ability to show the beauty and logic of organic chemistry, McMurry makes learning enjoyable. The highest compliment that can be given to a chemistry book applies to McMurry: It works!
Call Number: QD251.3 .M364 2016ISBN: 1305080483Publication Date: 2015-03-25
Organic Chemistry by
Study more effectively and improve your performance at exam time with this comprehensive guide! Written by Susan McMurry, the Study Guide and Solutions Manual provide answers and explanations to all in-text and end-of-chapter exercises. Content has been updated to match the new in-text and end-of-chapter exercises.
Call Number: QD251.3 .M364 2012 Study GuideISBN: 0840054459Publication Date: 2011-01-27
Quantitative Chemical Analysis by
The gold standard in analytical chemistry, Dan Harris' Quantitative Chemical Analysis provides a sound physical understanding of the principles of analytical chemistry and their applications in the disciplines.
Call Number: QD101.2 .H37 2016ISBN: 146413538XPublication Date: 2015-05-29Selected Exercises for the Biochemistry Laboratory by This companion volume to Armstrong's Biochemistry presents eight laboratory exercises. It is designed to give students more confidence by giving them more independence in each succeeding exercise. It contains detailed, practical information on reporting laboratory results, and preparing reagents, solutions and glassware. The equipment required is fairly simple and no expensive or hazardous materials are used.
Call Number: QP519.7 .C7 1983ISBN: 0195031857Publication Date: 1983-01-20
Additional Readings in Organic Chemistry
- D.P. Weeks, Pushing electrons, Saunders College Publishing, 1992
- Preparing for Your ACS Examination in Organic Chemistry-The Official Guide
- D.R. Klein, Organic Chemistry as a Second Language, John Wiley & Sons, 2004
- A. Winter, Organic Chemistry I for Dummies, John Wiley & Sons, 2005
- D.E. Levy, Arrow Pushing in Organic Chemistry, John Wiley & Sons, 2008
- T.W.G. Solomons and C.B. Fryhle, Organic Chemistry, 7th or 8th edition, John Wiley & Sons, 2000 (or later)
- F.A. Carey, Organic Chemistry, 4th edition, McGraw-Hill 2000 (or later)
- J.G. Smith, Organic Chemistry, 2nd edition, McGraw-Hill, 2007
- J.G. Smith, Study Guide/Solutions Manual to accompany Organic Chemistry, 3nd edition, McGraw-Hill, 2011
- D. Klein, Organic Chemistry, John Wiley & Sons, 2012, ISBN 978-0-471-75614-9
- D. Klein, Student Study Guide & Solutions Manual, John Wiley & Sons, 2012, ISBN 978-0-471-75739-9
Periodic Table
Study Tools
- ClutchChemistry infographics and guides
- Course Hero - Organic ChemistryOnline learning platform with practice problems, study guides, videos, class notes, and step-by-step explanations
- Khan Academy - ChemistryPractice resources and instructional videos
- Organic Chemistry Help!Forums, mechanisms, practice tests, tutorials/guides, and laboratory help
