University Libraries: Content Repository: Accessing Materials

Making Sense of All the Making Sense of All the Loginss

Function	Username or UserID	Password	Get Help
Library account/book loan renewals	Barcode on your ID (starts with a 2)	Barcode on your ID	Go to the Check Out Desk; remote@yu.edu
Off campus access to library resources (includes E-Reserves, library databases, ebooks)	Barcode on your ID (starts with a 2)	Default password is yulis, but you may have designated a new one	remote@yu.edu
The E-Reserves page for your course	None (although you may need your Off-Campus access login)	Password your professor gave you for your course	Speak to a Librarian; email your professor
Logging onto a YU computer	"Active Directory" username*	Default password is your last initial plus last 4 SSN digits, but you may have designated a new one	Check the Active Directory terminal 2nd Floor, Gottesman Library; call 1-800-829-7418

Getting Started? Search More than One Place at Once

YUFIND This link opens in a new window
A "discovery service" system set up to search many of our electronic databases with a single search.
Google Scholar (customized for access to YU-subscribed full text) This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and e-books.
To get full-text (where available), enter the keywords or article title in the search box and click on the top link (If there are two) to the right of the result.

Use the YULIS Library Catalog

YULIS Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search here to find books, e-books, journals, e-journals, DVDs & etc. that the library owns or subscribes to. Direct links to electronic resources.

Searching the YULIS Library Catalog

Books in the library are organized by call number:

Look for these charts in the library, or click for pdfs:

Hedi Steinberg Library Location Chart
Locate books or other materials in the Beren Campus Library.
Pollack / Gottesman Library Location Chart
Locate books or other materials in the Wilf Campus Libraries.

Techniques for Entering / Running Your Search

Phrase search	Use quotation marks around your phrase
Truncation (sometimes called "wild card") Example: photo* looks for photo, photograph, photography, photographer, etc…	Use an asterisk (*) with a word stub
Choose a field to search Often searching the ABSTRACT, SUBJECT, or TITLE field will narrow your search (An ABSTRACT is a summary of the article)	Drop-down menus
Resource category limiters Which library is it in? When was it published? Scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles only? Etc.	Drop-down menus or check boxes
Boolean operators --see examples below Family AND sibling will find fewer results Family OR sibling will find more results Family NOT sibling will eliminate certain results	Drop-down menus

Techniques for Narrowing / Broadening Your Results

Resource category limiters– [to narrow your results] Publication dates Source types Subjects Etc.	In right or left column on the Results Page
Subject heading hyperlinks– [to broaden your results] Runs a new search based on that subject heading	Links in the FULL record

Using Boolean Operators: AND, OR & NOT

Look for AND, OR & NOT drop-down menus

Operator	Example search	The search will find...	Venn diagram results shown in pink
AND narrows a search, resulting in fewer hits.	north carolina AND prohibition	items containing "North Carolina" and "prohibition."
OR broadens a search, resulting in more hits.	zimbabwe OR rhodesia	items containing either "Zimbabwe" or "Rhodesia" or both.
NOT eliminates some unwanted results.	mexico NOT new mexico	items containing "Mexico" but not "New Mexico."

Adapted from Duke University Libraries' "Advanced Searching Techniques" (no longer available online).
Creative Commons License

Searcher's Glossary

Abstract -- a brief summary of an academic article, conference presentation, dissertation, etc.; this is a searchable Field in a Database record

Boolean logic -- a system for narrowing / broadening search results using the operators AND, OR and NOT; the user chooses the operator as he/she enters the search terms and before clicking "Search"

Database record -- information about a source (e.g., title, author, subject, format, source, etc.)

Field -- a piece of information from a Database record (e.g., title)

Full-text -- all of the actual words in the actual article, e-book, or other source

Keyword or phrase -- a word or phrase that you will type into a search interface; the search engine will crawl the Database records in the database (and/or the Full-text of the database contents) looking for these words/phrases

Limiters -- categories of information commonly used to limit a search either before or after you click "Search"; database systems usually provide check boxes or other means of selecting limiters

Results -- a listing of the Database records that were found by the database search engine

Subject heading -- a word or words that describe the subject of the article, book, etc.: this is a searchable Field in a Database record

Got the Location & Call Number -- Now What?

Find a Book in the Wilf Campus Libraries
Hedi Steinberg Library Location Chart
Locate books or other materials in the Beren Campus Library.

Finding a Full-Text Version of an Article

Step 1 - Look to see if we have it in a different database.

E-Journals
Search by the title of the journal to find the article you're looking for.

Step 2 - If not, get it through Interlibrary Loan (at no cost).

Interlibrary Loan - Article Request
The library will get the article for you, sometimes in less than 24 hours.

Get a Book that YU Doesn't Have - FREE!

Interlibrary Loan - Book Request
The library will request any book for you from other libraries around the country. A free service.

Can take from a couple of days to a couple of weeks.
Loan period varies -- dictated by the lending library.

Get a Book from Stern delvered to Wilf Campus, and Vice-Versa

Interlibrary Loan - Book Request
You can always go to the other campus in person, but use this form for delivery.

Takes 2 days.

Find Full-Text of an Article Cited on the Web (or anywhere else)

Interlibrary Loan - Article Request
The library will request any article for you from other libraries around the country. A free service.

Can take less than 24 hours.
Make sure we don't have it--search for the journal title here.

Renewing Library Items

You have two options:

At the Library: Show your ID at the circulation desk and request renewals.

Online: Go to the YULIS CATALOG
Click on: MY YULIS ACCOUNT
Enter: Username (barcode number)
Enter: Password (students and faculty: barcode number; all others: password you created when you registered at the Library)
Click MY ACCOUNT
Click CHECKED OUT.
Check the boxes for items you want to renew
Click Renew (Note the new due date.)

How to Login from Off campus

NOTE: You don't need a link to get in--when you click on something that requires a login, you will be prompted.

Step 1: FIRST-TIME USER? You are already registered!

Accounts for new students are created automatically.

Step 2: Login

USERNAME = barcode number on your ID.
PASSWORD (default) = yulis - If you need us to reset it, email us at remote@yu.edu.

Step 3: Designate a new password for off-campus access.

Enter yulis (lower case) as your old password.

OR:

Content Repository