chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Content Repository

What's a Citation Manager?

Use a Citation Manager to:

  • organize your references;
  • automatically format citations and compile a bibliography; and
  • store links and (in some cases) full-text articles with their references.

APA Citation Quick Links

Basic APA Reference Formats

APA Citation Formats & Examples

Book with 1 author

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Not all capitals. Location including state abbreviation: Publisher.

Harris, A. B. (1994). Broadway theatre. London, UK: Routledge.

Book with 2 or more authors

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of work: Not all capitals. Location including state abbreviation: Publisher.

Locker, K., & Kaczmarek, S. (2010). Business communication: Building critical skills. New York: McGraw-Hill.

Scholarly Journal Article (If electronic – add the URL or DOI number at the end)

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Date of publication). Title of article: Not all capitals: Subtitle not all capitals. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), page range. Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/

Reddy, S. K., Swaminathan, V., & Motley, C. M. (1998). Exploring the determinants of Broadway show success. Journal of Marketing Research (JMR) 35(3), 370-383.  Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/3152034

Magazine/Newspaper Article (online)

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Not all capitals. Title of Newspaper. Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/ use URL of site/journal/blog not of the article

Whitehouse, K. (2016, Mar 28). “Pedigreed Wall Streeter accused of fraud.” USA Today. Retrieved from http://www.usatoday.com

Single Chapter/Essay from an Edited Book

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of chapter: Not all capitals. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book not all capitals: Subtitle not all capitals (pages of chapter). Location including state abbreviation: Publisher.

Le Gallienne, E. (2009). On repertory and audiences. In American Theatre Magazine Staff (Eds.), American Theatre reader: Essays and conversations from American Theatre Magazine (29-31). New York, NY: Theatre Communications Group.

Page of a Website

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of document: Not all capitals. Retrieved from http://Web address

Simonson, R. (2011, Apr 4). When did Broadway shows start offering Sunday performances? Retrieved from http://www.playbill.com/news/article/149291-ASK-PLAYBILLCOM-When-Did-Broadway-Shows-Start-Offering-Sunday-Performances

Personal Communications (unpublished interviews, letters, E-mails, memos, etc.)

[name the author in a signal phrase, and use a parenthetical citation (personal communication, Month xx, Year), but don’t include in reference list.]

According to Ronald P. Harvey, a juvenile detention caseworker, many parents of the teenagers are incarcerated (personal communication, May 11, 2010).

 

Citing Classical Religious Texts in APA

  • First citation in the text:
    • Use numbering used in the text, such as chapter and verse. Then name the Biblical version used.
    • Example: (Bereshit 3:2 Stone Chumash)
  • All subsequent citations from the same version:
    • Chapter and verse only
    • Example: (Bamidbar 15:3)
  • Do not list major classical texts in your Reference list.

Why Cite Your Sources? (video 2:27)

Definitions of Terms

Bibliography – a list of sources at the end of a paper, artilce, book, etc. Sometimes called a "Works Cited" or "References" list.

Citation, "In-Text" – information inserted into the body of a text to indicate that a quote or idea came from some other work; includes enough information for the reader to find the source in the bibliography, works cited list, or references list.

Reference – infromation about one source, part of a list in a bibligoraphy, works cited list, or references list.

Endnote – a note at the end of a book or a section of a book that may contain a reference to a source.

Footnote – a note at the bottom of a page that may contain a reference to a source.

Citation Manager - an online service, browser add-on, or software product that helps you gather, organize, and use sources and citations.

Citation Style Guides

A Citation Style is a system of formatting the information of a citation.

Make sure you know which style your professor wants you to use.

 

Online Guides

 

Print Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA).
Pollack Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Stern Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010

MLA Handbook. 8th Edition
Stern Reference LB2369 .M53 2016

Student's Guide to Writing College Papers (Turabian).
Pollack Reference LB2369 .T8 2010
Stern Reference LB2369 .T8 2010

Cite Right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and More.
Pollack PN171.F56 L55 2011
Stern Reference PN171.F56 L55 2011

Citation Manager Comparison

 

No Citation Manager

EasyBib

RefWorks

Zotero

Great for...

 

...using just a few sources for a single project.

...integrating citations automatically as you write in Word or in Google Docs.

...building a research collection to use on multiple projects--even after leaving YU.

...collecting citation information from social media and websites.

Learning curve

Hard Very easy Medium Easy
Word processor integration* Manual entry Copy & paste MSWord or Google Docs, via add-on MSWord or Google Docs, via add-on
Stores/ organizes files (e.g. article pdfs) No No Yes Yes

 

*Word processor integration refers to creation/insertion of in-text citations or citation numbers within the text of your document as you write it, and automated creation/insertion of the Works Cited or Bibliography list.

What is Plagiarism at YU?

Plagiarism is a BIG DEAL--and it's taken very seriously. Academic integrity is something you agree to when you sign on for studies at a place like YU. There can be serious consequences for ignoring this responsibility.

Knowing what constitutes plagiarism is the first step:

How to Avoid Plagiarism

You need to be organized about your research, keep track of your sources, and use quotations, paraphrasing and summary correctly.

  • Avoiding Plagiarism: Safe Practices - From the Purdue OWL: Use your organizational skills to avoid plagiarism in your work.
  • Plagiarism - The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill created this helpful handout to explain what plagiarism is and how to avoid it.

EasyBib Quick Links

Why set up an account? - Going through the YU Libraries and setting up your own account gives you access to premium features and the ability to save your citations in separate folders for each of your papers/projects.

----------

----------

Setting Up and Using EasyBib

Are you new to using a citation manager? Will you be working with a small number of citations??

As a YU community member, you have access to EasyBib Premium.

To Get Started

1. You need an EasyBib account to access the full features.

2.  Explore the site on your own, or watch some of the EasyBib video tutorials.

3. Ask a librarian for help if you have any difficulty!

Setting Up and Using Zotero

What is Zotero?

  • An extension for the Firefox web-browser.
  • It runs in its own pane within Firefox, separately from web pages.
  • Sets up a "Library" of references (called "items") on your hard drive. Users can attach files, notes, and/or links to individual items. Particularly good at gleaning information from the Internet as you research online.

To Get Started

  • Go to your Firefox browser and download the Zotero extension (a small bit of software that works with Firefox).
  • Restart Firefox. You should see the Zotero logoin the bottom right corner of your Firefox window.
  • Take the Video Tour and learn the basics.

Importing References

  • If Zotero will "capture" reference info it finds on Websites and save it, sometimes also saving attachments, such as full-text pdfs.
  • Importing an RIS file from a database, etc.
  • Saving very basic data about a Webpage.
  • Searching the Web for source information based on a pdf file you already have on your computer.
  • Searching the Web for source information according to a DOI number, an ISBN number, etc.
  • Manually entering references.

Avoid Having to Find Your Sources Twice!

As you find information, remember to collect info about the sources themselves, too:

Books

1) Author(s)/editor(s)   2) Date of publication   3) Title & subtitle   4) City of publication   5) Name of publisher

Articles

1) Author(s)   2) Date of publication   3) Title & subtitle of article   4) Periodical/journal name   5) Volume & issue numbers (if used)   6) Page numbers

Online-Only Sources

1) Author(s)/editor(s)   2) Date of publication   3) Title of source   4) URL (Web address) or the Digital Object Identifier (DOI—when available)   5) Paragraph numbers if no page numbers are available

The Two Parts of APA Citation

1.   In-text citations – indicate when you’ve used a source:

  • Three key pieces of info:   Author’s last name & year of publication. Plus, if it’s a quotation, the page number.
  • Two ways to do it:
    1. Include name and year in a “signal phrase”:   According to Smith (2010), many social workers run the risk of becoming emotionally attached to their clients.
    2. Name and year in parentheses:   Many social workers “potentially face the problem of becoming attached emotionally to clients” (Smith, 2010, p. 101).

2.   “References” list at the end of the paper:

  • Each source must be listed in alphabetical order on a separate “References” page.
  • Exception:  do not list personal communications (unpublished interviews, letters, E-mails, memos, etc.)

More info from the Purdue Owl:

The Two Parts of MLA Citation - 8th Edition

1.   In-text citations – indicate when you’ve used a source:

  • Three key pieces of info:   Author’s last name & page number(s): e.g., (Geisel 1). Plus, if you use more than one work by that author, a shortened title: e.g., (Geisel, One Fish 1).
  • Two ways to do it:
    1. Include name in a “signal phrase”:   According to Smith, many social workers run the risk of becoming emotionally attached to their clients (101).
    2. Name in parentheses:   Many social workers “potentially face the problem of becoming attached emotionally to clients” (Smith 101).

2.   “Works Cited” list at the end of the paper:

  • Each source must be listed in alphabetical order on a separate “Works Cited” page.

Basic Template for Any Type of Source (scholarly journal article example)

 

Core Elements

Example

Source

(the novel, article, poem, video, essay, etc.)

  1. Author(s).
  2. Title of source.

 

  1. Lorensen, Jutta.
  2. “Between Image and Word, Color, and Time: Jacob Lawrence’s The Migration Series.”

Container 1

(the book, journal, magazine, newspaper, etc. that “contains” the source—by itself or collected together with other sources)

  1. Title of container,
  2. Other contributors,
  3. Version,
  4. Number,
  5. Publisher,
  6. Publication date,
  7. Location.
  1. African American Review,
  2.  
  3.  
  4. vol. 40, no. 3,
  5.  
  6. 2006,
  7. pp. 571-86.

Container 2 (if applicable)

(the database, website, etc. that “contains” Container 1)

  1. Title of container,
  2. Other contributors,
  3. Version,
  4. Number,
  5. Publisher,
  6. Publication date,
  7. Location.

 

  1. EbscoHost,
  2.  
  3.  
  4.  
  5.  
  6.  
  7. yulib002.mc.yu.edu:8443/login?url=http://search. ebscohost. com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsjsr &AN =edsjsr.40027390&site=edslive&scope=site.

Final citation entry (scholarly journal article):

Lorensen, Jutta. “Between Image and Word, Color, and Time: Jacob Lawrence’s The Migration Series.” African American Review, vol. 40, no. 3, 2006, pp. 571-86. EbscoHost, yulib002.mc.yu.edu: 8443/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct= true&db=edsjsr&AN =edsjsr.40027390&site=edslive&scope=site.

Other Examples in MLA 8th Edition

Book with 1 author

Harris, Andrew. Broadway Theatre. Routledge, 1994.

Book with 2 or more authors

Locker, Kitty, and Stephen Kaczmarek. Business Communication: Building Critical Skills. McGraw-Hill, 2010.

Magazine/Newspaper Article

Pogrebin, Robin. “Mayor Intervenes in Theater Strike.” New York Times, 11 Mar. 2003, nytimes.com/2003/03/11/us/the-theater-walkout-overview-mayor-intervenes-in-theater-strike.html.

Single Chapter/Essay from an Edited Book

Le Gallienne, Eva. “On Repertory and Audiences.” American Theatre Reader: Essays and Conversations from American Theatre Magazine, edited by American Theatre Magazine Staff, Theatre Communications Group, 2009, pp. 29-31.

Page of a Website

Simonson, Robert. “When Did Broadway Shows Start Offering Sunday Performances?” Playbill.com, Playbill Inc., 4 Apr. 2011, playbill.com/article/ask-playbillcom-when-did-broadway-shows-start-offering-sunday-performances-com-177711.

MLA Citation Quick Links - 8th Edition

MLA Handbook. 8th Edition
Stern Reference LB2369 .M53 2016

The Three Parts of CMS Citation

1.   In-text note numbering:

  • Use in-text numbering to refer to specific sources (with citation information in the footnote)and also to add commentary that is an aside related to the text.
  • Start with 1 and add numbers consecutively.
  • In-text numbers should be in superscript.
  • In-text number should immediately follow the clause or sentence referring to the source.

2.   Footnotes at the bottom of each page:

  • Indent each note, and use a full sized numeral followed by a period.
  • The first time a source is cited, use complete information (e.g., Theodore Seuss Geisel, One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish (New York: Random House, 1960), 1.
  • For the same source as the note immediately prior, use "Ibid." followed by a different page number, if necessary.
  • The 2nd time you use a source, and all subsequent times in your paper, use a shortened version of the note (author's last name plus 1-4 keywords from the title, e.g., Geisel, One Fish, 6).

2.   "Bibliography" list at the end of the paper:

  • Each source must be listed in alphabetical order on a separate "Bibliography" page.

Basic CMS Reference Formats (Footnote + Bib Reference)

Citation Examples -- Footnote + Bib Reference

Book with 1 author ~ footnote

1. Andrew Harris, Broadway Theatre (London: Routledge, 1994), 30.

Book with 1 author ~ bib ref

Harris, Andrew. Broadway Theatre. London: Routledge, 1994.

Book with 2 or more authors ~ footnote

2. Kitty Locker and Stephen Kaczmarek, Business Communication: Building Critical Skills (New York: McGraw-Hill, 2010), 104.

Book with 2 or more authors ~ bib ref
Locker, Kitty, and Stephen Kaczmarek. Business Communication: Building Critical Skills. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2010.

Scholarly Journal Article (If electronic – include date accessed only if time sensitive material; must include DOI [preferred] or URL) ~ footnote

3. Srinivas K. Reddy, Vanitha Swaminathan, and Carol M. Motley, "Exploring the Determinants of Broadway Show Success," Journal Of Marketing Research (JMR) 35, no. 3 (1998): 374, accessed March 8, 2016. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3152034.3.

Scholarly Journal Article (If electronic – include date accessed only if time sensitive material; must include DOI [preferred] or URL) ~ bib ref

Reddy, Srinivas K., Vanitha Swaminathan, and Carol M. Motley. "Exploring the Determinants of Broadway Show Success." Journal Of Marketing Research (JMR) 35.3 (1998): 370-83. Accessed March 8, 2016. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3152034.

Newspaper Article (if electronic - must include DOI [preferred] or URL) ~ footnote

4. Kaja Whitehouse, “Pedigreed Wall Streeter Accused of Fraud,” USA Today, March 28, 2016, http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/2016/03/28/pedigreed-wall-streeter-accused-fraud/82343104/.

Newspaper Article (if electronic - must include DOI [preferred] or URL) ~ bib ref

Whitehouse, Kaja. “Pedigreed Wall Streeter Accused of Fraud.” USA Today. March 28, 2016. http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/2016/03/28/pedigreed-wall-streeter-accused-fraud/82343104/.
Single Chapter/Essay from an Edited Book ~ footnote

5. Eva Le Gallienne, “On Repertory and Audiences,” in American Theatre Reader: Essays and Conversations from American Theatre Magazine, ed. American Theatre Magazine Staff (New York, NY: Theatre Communications Group, 2009), 29.

Single Chapter/Essay from an Edited Book ~ bib ref
Le Gallienne, Eva. “On Repertory and Audiences.” In American Theatre Reader: Essays and Conversations from American Theatre Magazine, edited by American Theatre Magazine Staff, 29-31. New York, NY: Theatre Communications Group, 2009.
Page of a Website ~ footnote

6. Stan Schroeder, “Facebook Ditches Support for BlackBerry,” Mashable, mashable.com/2016/03/22/blackberry-facebook-support-end/.

Page of a Website ~ bib ref
Schroeder, Stan. “Facebook Ditches Support for BlackBerry.” Mashable. mashable.com/2016/03/22/blackberry-facebook-support-end/.

 

"New" RefWorks Quick Links

During 2016, ProQuest has updated RefWorks with a new interface and new functionality for collecting and managing documents and citation information.

Setting Up and Using the "New" RefWorks

Adding References

Use the "Add References" menu (+):

screenshot with 'Add Reference' menu

  • Upload or drag-n-drop an article or other source document (MSOffice, OpenOffice, or pdf). If there is metadata attached, it will automatically load into a new record. Tip: drag multiple documents at once.
  • With "Create new reference," as you manually enter the title, keep an eye on the lower right corner of the screen. RefWorks may be able to find and import your data quickly.

Adding Documents to Existing Reference Records

  1. Click on a reference to view the record on the right side of the screen.
  2. Click on the words "Find full text using link resolver."
  3. The system will search YU's databases to try to retrieve the full text document.

Sharing a Collection

screenshot with sharing menu

screenshot with sharing settings

Write-n-Cite Utility for MS Word

Write-n-Cite, a utility for MS Word

With a few clicks, watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography.

Download the Utility

screenshot with tools menu

Find "RefWorks" in your MS Word ribbon, login, and connect with RefWorks

  • 1st time: you must be internet connected to log in to your account.
  • 1st time: will sync automatically (may take a while); after that, select "Sync My Database" whenever necessary.

Select Citation Style

Select, Preview, Edit, Insert In-Text Citation

Place Your Curser Where You Want It and Insert Bibliography

Continue to Write, Insert-Edit-Remove Citations, and Your Bibliography Automatically Updates

Write-n-Cite Add-On for Google Docs

Write-n-Cite, an Add-On for Google Docs

With a few clicks, watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography.

Install the Add-On

  1. Open a blank document.
  2. Select "Add-Ons" --> "Get Add-Ons."
  3. Search for "ProQuest RefWorks."
  4. Click on the "Free" button.

Accept Conditions

Insert Citations: Select "Add-ons" --> "ProQuest RefWorks" --> "Manage Citations"

  • 1st time: log in when prompted.

Search For or Navigate to the Reference You Want in Right-Hand Panel

Insert Citation, Or Edit It First -- Bibliography Generates Automatically

Continue to Write, Insert-Edit-Remove Citations, and Your Bibliography Automatically Updates

Cite as You Write

Insert in-text citations into your Word or Google Docs paper.

How to access and use Write-N-Cite:
  • In Refworks, click Tools.
  • Find the Write-N -Cite plugin for your word processing program (Word, Google Docs) and your operating system (e.g. 34-bit vs. 64-bit).
  • While in your Word/Google document, click the Refworks add-on.